City of Maryville

Facebook Twitter E-notify RSS Feeds 
Mayor and Council
Mayor and Council The City of Maryville, Missouri is a third-class city of 11,971 residents (2010 US Census). The City Council is the governing body of the City of Maryville. The five City Council members are elected at-large, are non-partisan, and they serve staggered three-year terms. The Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem are elected by their peers on the City Council. Each position is a one year-term.
The City Council is responsible for formulating policies and providing direction to the staff through the City Manager. The council members also serve as advocates for the City on regional and state boards and commissions. Additionally, the council members each serve on at least one permanent or ad hoc committee or board for the City, such as the Chamber of Commerce, NW Missouri Regional Council of Governments, and many others.
On August 25, 2014, the City Council adoped a set of City Council Goals. These goals were used in budget preparation for the fiscal year 2015. In addition to informing the budget-setting function, they also prioritize key performance areas and organizational goals

Mayor and Council Members

 Rachel Martin Photo by Lindsey Gibson, A Thousand Words Photography, Copyright 2014

Rachael Martin was elected to the City Council in April 2014 and re-elected to her third 3-year term in 2020.

Rachael moved to Maryville to attend Northwest Missouri State University in 2005.  She obtained her Bachelors of Science in Marketing.  She met her husband, Spencer while obtaining her degree.

Rachael spends her free time with her children, who enjoy outdoor activities.  She looks forward to raising her family in Maryville's tight-knit community and serving withthe City Council Team to ensure a bright future for its residents.

Contact Rachael Martin
Benjamin Lipiec  
Benjamin Lipiec

Mayor Benjamin Lipiec was elected to serve his first 3-year term on the Maryville City Council in April 2017 and was re-elected in 2020.

Benjamin has been a lifelong resident of the Maryville area.  He graduated from Northwest Missouri State University in 2007 and began working at Nucor-LMP in June 2008, currently as the Sales Supervisor.

Benjamin lives in Maryville with his wife Mandy and their 4 children.  He is a member of the Calvary Church and volunteers for Big Brothers Big Sisters, United Way and The Source.

Councilman Lipiec looks forward to challenges and opportunities that are continually facing the city.

Contact Benjamin Lipiec
Jason McDowell
Council Member 

Council Member Jason McDowell was elected to the City Council in April 2015 and re-elected in  April 2018 to another 3-year term.  Prior to becoming a member of the City Council, he served as a member of the Planning and Zoning Commission.
Jason earned his Bachelor's and Master's Degrees from Northwest Missouri State University.  He worked for the Maryville School District for 12 years and is currently employed as Principal at the Northeast Nodaway School District.
Jason lives in Maryville with his wife Jennifer and their children.  In his free time he enjoys spending time with family and friends.  Jason is also a member of the Maryville Pride Lions Club.
Tye Parsons
Mayor Pro-Tem

Council Member Tye Parsons was appointed by the City Council to complete an unexpired term held by Renee Riedel until April 2019.  

Tye holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Northwest Missouri State University (1998) and a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Missouri (2004).  After a 13 year career working with Missouri's regional planning commissions, Tye joined Northwest Missouri State University in 2013 in his current role as grant coordinator.

Tye lives in Maryville with his wife, Vanessa, and their two daughters.  He is the co-founder of Maryville Young Players, a not-for-profit community theater organization, and is an active member of the Maryville Rotary Club and the Maryville First United Methodist Church.
Contact Tye Parsons
Matt Johnson 3
Council Member
City Council Member Matt Johnson was elected April 3, 2018 for a three (3) year term.
Matt and his wife Danielle, first moved to Maryville to attend Northwest Missouri State University in 1992.  Matt studied history and political science and is now senior instructor in the Humanities and Social Science Department, teaching history.  Matt has served the city as a volunteer firefighter since 2012.
Matt enjoys time spent with extended family and friends but is most comfortable at home with his wife, kids and Tucker, the dog.  Matt looks forward to engaging the citizens of Maryville and those that serve the city in the ongoing dialogue on ways to improve our hometown.
Contact Matt Johnson

Regular Council meetings are the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:00 in City Hall.  All meetings are open to the public.  If you have any questions, contact the City Clerk's Office at (660) 562-8001.